Best International Researcher for Research and Excellence in Metal Additive Manufacturing and Gear Engineering

Prof. Neelesh Kumar Jain did PhD in 2003 and MTech in 1995 from IIT Kanpur and BE from SGSITS Indore in 1993. He research expertise in Additive Manufacturing of high melting metallic materials; Development of biomaterials, high entropy alloys, FGM, SMM, MMC by additive manufacturing; High quality gear finishing by advanced finishing processes; Sustainable hobbing of gears; Net-shape manufacturing of miniature and non-circular gears; Modeling and optimization of the manufacturing processes; Micromachining and nano-finishing processes; Micro-joining of thin sheets. He has authored 6 books and edited 2 books, 23 book chapters, 114 journal papers, 31 conference papers, filed two patents, guided 12 PhD and 27 MTech theses. He is Associate Editor of International Journal of Precision Technology (Inderscience Publication, UK) and Editorial Board Member of Journal of Micromanufacturing (Sage Publications, UK) and reviewer of many reputed journals published by international publishers. He has delivered many expert lectures and has been Chief Guest, Panelist and Jury Member in many reputed conferences, symposia, summits, and panel discussions. He has developed Central Workshop, 6 state-of-art research and teaching labs, 45 smart classrooms, 7 virtual classrooms, DST-FIST Center of Excellence in Gear Engineering at IIT Indore in Aug 2015 and is its Coordinator since then. He is recipient of Education Leadership Award 2021, Surya Gaurav National Award 2021, Best Researcher Award 2020, Cenderkia-Bitara-Award by Universiti Malaysia, Pahang in 2018, Excellence in Teaching award by Lions Club Unique in 2011, inclusion in Marquis’s Who’s Who in 2010, BOYCAST Fellowship in 2008 by DST, Govt. of India, and National Merit Scholarship during 1989 to 1993 and National Merit Scholarship Certificate in1987. He served IIT Indore Director (Officiating) during 1st Jan 2020 to 30th Jan 2022, as Director (Acting) for more than 18 months on various occasions during 2010 to 2022, as founding Dean of Academic Affairs during 6th Oct 2010 to 30th May 2019, founding member of Board of Governors during 2010 to 2012, member of BoG of NIT Raipur during July 2015-July 2018. He is a member of IIT Indore Finance Committee since Feb 2017 and Coordinator of National Knowledge Network since March 2010. He was member of BoG of IISER Bhopal, MANIT Bhopal, Member of Institute Body, Academic and Standing Selection Committee of AIIMS Bhopal, Vice-Chairman of Estate Committee of AIIMS Bhopal during 1 Jan 2020 to 30 Jan 2022. He played significant role in development of permanent and temporary campuses of IIT Indore from Jan. 2010 onward. As founding DOAA of IIT Indore, He developed course curriculum for 5 BTech, 6 MTech, 5 MSc, 3 MS(Research), 16 PhD, and 19 UG/PG+PhD dual programs, academic procedures, and academic infrastructure. He organized 9 orientation and 6 convocations of IIT Indore during 2010 to 2019.

Professor (HAG)
IIT Indore, India